Second Day of Sharing: Scrooge

I just finished rCover of A Christmas Carol bookeading A Christmas Carol for the first time. It was worth it–especially because I enjoyed the skinny 1988 Aerie Books paperback that my buddy gave me a few months ago, with a teensy foreward and afterword by Jane Yolen and a scream-tastic cover (right; artist not credited).

Continuing the “share something every day until Christmas” challenge, today I want to share a film adaptation of A Christmas Carol that I started watching yesterday during lunch: Scrooge (1935), directed by Henry Edwards and starring Seymour Hicks, who also starred in the silent 1913 version.

The whole film is available for free at Archive.org, which points out that “This British import is notable for being the only adaptation of this story with an invisible Marley’s Ghost and its Expressionistic cinematography.” Beautiful and moody stuff–and especially fun when you’ve just breezed through the book, because so much of the dialogue is reproduced verbatim. I especially like the purposefully horrible trio of instrumentalists in the first scene who try admirably to get through “The First Noel” without hitting a wrong note. Edwards lets their screeching go on for long enough that I went from annoyed to charmed–exactly as I was supposed to.

Besides the fact that it’s cool, I’m sharing this film because I like film adaptations so much. I haven’t read much in the English sub-field of adaptations, though USF has a graduate class on them every once in a while. It seems like one more area of creating from found material, which I’m increasingly convinced is the way we create practically everything.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

